Summer 2017 Anime Update

dda82e3596fe00d14d7313153104abaa-1024x576

So far I’ve been enjoying this season’s lineup. Please refer to the previous post if you’re interested in what I’m watching.

Now onto the main topic I want to share with you all today. I’m adding another romance to the list which is Enmusubi no Youko-chan (Fox Spirit Matchmaker)! Would not have discovered it if my usual go-to chart site was down for maintenance a few days ago (and is not tracking this anime’s episode countdown?) which led me to check another site and that’s how I stumbled upon this series that I did not recognized.

If you’re looking for heartbreaking love stories, then this is for you~

Basically, these stories are between spirits and humans. Spirits live longer than humans and even when the human is reborn, they will have no memories of their past life.  To regain their love one’s memories, they can use the “service” provided by the “Fox Spirit Matchmakers”.

Do note that this series was originally made in China. Therefore, I checked Huyao Xiao Hongniang out first before watching the Japanese adaptation.

Chinese Version

Each episode is about 10-15 minutes. Short but entertaining. The first 2-3 episodes were very cringy. In my opinion, the show tried too hard to be funny by packing in lots of jokes. Plus, everything didn’t seem to make sense at first. It gets better after that especially around episode 7-8. This is where the drama starts and humor tones down so be prepared to get your heartstrings pulled. There will be moments where you can’t wait for couples to be together, crying at backstories, frustrated at characters that they don’t deserve their lover, and satisfied that the couples are finally together. This is my kind of romance! ❤

Love the Openings and Endings! The OPs have a way of setting the mood that makes you want the pairing in that specific arc to be together while the EDs are relaxing to listen to. My favorite OP is the first one which is upbeat.

Japanese Version

This version will have 24 episodes containing 3 story arcs (the original might be airing its 5th arc). Each episodes is about 2-3 of the Chinese version. There are definitely differences such as edits and scene cuts. So far there are 6 episodes and I don’t feel the same roller coaster emotions as the original. Because the original episodes were short, they were good at creating suspense and makes you want to see the next episode. However, stitching 2-3 episodes into a 24 minutes episode cuts out some humor/details and reduces the suspense at crucial moments. Though, I’m interested in how they will handle the 3rd arc. Those cliffhangers at the end of each 3rd arc’s episode are a killer, so I think the 24 minute episode format will help make the story feel less dragging.

The OP will contain spoilers as it combines the images from both the first and second original OPs. I’m not really a fan of this opening because why start off the show depressingly when the show is going to become progressively sorrowful… At least, I don’t have a problem with the ending since it’s peaceful like the other endings.

I hope this series will continue to prosper. 🙂 Being my first “Chinese anime”, it was amazing! I’m interested in checking out more~

Leave a Reply

