Summer 2017 Anime

This season’s lineup is quite interesting including many in the romance category. Compared to last season, I didn’t find much romance or full episode length series to watch. Now that the new season has begun it’s a whole different story!

Note: This will be my personal watching list for the season and may not contain all romance series! Even though some shows may not be listed here and if you are interested in them, by all means check them out.

Romance

98005-rz5viwren7s3Ballroom e Youkoso – Definitely had my eyes on this one and will be following it to the end! (Never knew that ballroom was competitive since I thought it was just a type of dance for socials.)

98320-d86tddyh2cx9Koi to Uso – I’m intrigued by the concept that the government chooses one’s marriage partner based on genetics even though it’s a creepy thought if it were to be implemented in real life.

98631-ki1bh5p1goisKonbini Kareshi – So far the first episode was meh. Hopefully, there’s character development.

98659-qfr7akfmthnlYoukoso Jitsuryoku Shijou Shugi no Kyoushitsu e – This point system is very fishy as to why a school for “elites” the teacher is so lenient on students slacking in class and students carelessly spending their points in addition is used as currency. Also, how do students earn these points? By a honor system? Competing against other classes?

97766-inwsfpoysajyGamers! – Started off rocky but by the middle/end of the first episode it got my attention.

98291-rr8vlg8zq1zbTsurezure Children – Some of the couples are adorable~

d93961a208e77f1513855a21f93ceab557e94e0c

Fox Spirit Matchmaker – I was unaware of this show until mid season. To see my review, please go to this post.

My final thoughts on these romance series can be found in this post.

Misc. (Comedy, Slice of life, etc.)

98715-c2trolgmkzlxIkemen Sengoku: Toki o Kakeru Koi – To be honest, as an otome fan I was opposed to giving it a try when I saw the pv/trailer. Despite that… I couldn’t resist good-looking historical men! Even though it’s still not what I expect it to be, I’ll continue watching it. Those chibis must have grown onto me… Plus, I want to see Date Masamune!

Katsugeki/Touken Ranbu – I wasn’t aware that it was based off of a game or that it had a huge female fanbase until I previewed the comment section. There were a lot of hateful comments just from the first episode? From what I saw, the first episode wasn’t hard to understand. There’s action, time traveling involved, the kitsune can use advance technology, and the main characters are the good guys who try to prevent the bad guys from changing history. (I shall check out Hanamaru and the game itself as well!)

98501-hrkpqduao2b6Youkai Apartment no Yuuga na Nichijou – This one is quite relaxing to watch since I don’t have to think hard about what’s going on. The youkai here reminds me of the spirits from Spirited Away. In addition, the opening song makes me feel happy~ ^w^ (I’m so jealous of the MC. He gets to wake up to three cute blue birds right outside his window! X3)

98205-c94s2cqj4ll2Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun – The comedy is there but… the guy flashing his abs (not the ones in the image) and the girl stalking Aoyama-kun really irks me. I’m not sure if I could last another episode. On the bright side, for those who want to watch it, the circumstances surrounding Aoyama-kun’s life is very humorous to watch and the character kind of reminds me of Ryoma Echizen.

98519-woog7yxxktwtCentaur no Nayami – The characters are cute~ Though, the story may have a dark undertone.

97855-bpwo0crnrpaiVatican Kiseki Chousakan – The art appeals to me. However, the pacing was too fast in the first episode! It doesn’t let you have time to think or digest the information thrown at you. I hope that it’s not like that in future episodes.

97617-tmrrraupfbt5Isekai Shokudou – Almost missed this gem. It’s very lighthearted. The owner is kind and the female demon is adorable and easy to sympathize with.

For my final thoughts on these non romance series, can be found in this post.

Leave a Reply

